HomeNC Cardinal Cataloging Best Practice StandardsItem CatalogingEditing and Deleting Items and Volumes

2.14. Editing and Deleting Items and Volumes

 Editing Items


There are multiple ways to edit items. Rather than changing each item individually in the Holdings Maintenance screen, you can make rapid batch changes to multiple items on the Item Status screen.

  1. First, either scan all items into the Item Status Screen, or import a csv file of barcodes by clicking on the Upload from File button.
  2. Highlight all items you wish to change.
  3. To change copy status, shelving location, circulating library, replace barcode, etc., select Edit Item Attributes from either Actions menu.
  4. Make and apply changes for each field (or apply an item template) and click Modify Copies button.

A better way to track changes you make to a set of materials (such as new, display, or seasonal items) is with a copy bucket. Do this by scanning directly into a copy bucket or a uploading csv file in Item Status, highlighting the batch of items, and selecting Add to Item Bucket from the Action for Catalogers menu. Click Add to New Bucket, name your bucket, and click OK. If you can’t see the location and call numbers in the copy bucket screen, use the column picker to add these columns. After changes are made, click refresh, and check your work. It is also possible to use the Show Status button to display copy bucket items back in the Item Status Screen.

To change call number:
  1. Select Edit Volumes under Action for Catalogers
  2. Change each call number in the Volume Editor window. (There is a field for each item, so each number can be unique.)
  3. Make sure the Auto Merge for Volume Collision box is checked (in case you already have a copy with the new call #).
  4. Click Modify button.

Note: Circulators also have permissions to edit items and volumes at their branch, so are able to perform common functions like changing copy status, shelving location, circulating library, replace barcode, etc. (either individually or in batch) using Item Attributes. They do not have permissions to delete item, volume, or bib records.

Editing Volumes

There are multiple ways to edit the call number for a volume record. One is tthrough Actions for Catalogers on the Item Status screen for the item you want to edit and select Edit Volumes from the dropdown. This will bring up a box where you can edit the barcode.


Another method is from the Holdings Maintenance screen, where you can click on the volume (not the barcode line item) and selecting Edit Volumes:



Deleting Items

When deleting items, it is important to make sure the item belongs to your library. Check the barcode range as well as the owning library (select from the column picker). Also, be sure to display the copy status (select from the column picker) to ensure that you are not attempting to delete items in a status other than Available (Reshelving), Discard/Weed, Missing or On order. Do NOT delete items with open transactions.

Items with statuses indicating open transactions, such as Checked out, Lost, Long Overdue, Lost and Paid, In transit, or On holds shelf MUST be checked in to close the transaction before deleting. Do NOT manually change the status through Item Attributes, as this simply relabels the items and does not close the underlying transaction correctly in the patron account (for Checked Out, Lost, Long Overdue, or Lost and Paid); or target a new item to fill the patron hold (for In transit or On holds shelf items).

Please keep in mind that certain library settings affect whether billing will automatically change in Evergreen by checking in items that were previously in a checked out status, such as Checked Out, Lost, Long Overdue, or Lost and Paid:

Void lost item billing when returned:  When a Lost item is checked in, Evergreen will automatically void the cost of the item billed to the patron. (Most libraries have this set to true.)

Void lost max interval: This is the cutoff point at which Evergreen will no longer automatically void lost billing. (NC Cardinal recommends that libraries choose the number of months they intend to leave items in a lost status, after which catalogers can safely check in an item to delete it without affecting billing. Staff can always manually void billing if the patron returns the item after the void lost max interval.)

Restore overdues on lost item return: When a Lost item is checked in, Evergreen will automatically add back fines originally billed to the patron (before the item was marked Lost and the overdue fines removed). (Most libraries have this set to true.)


Order of Deletion

The order of record deletion is important. An item/copy record must be deleted first, in order to delete a volume record. 

Automated deletion: When a copy or item record is the last item for a specific volume, the associated volume record is automatically deleted. If the last item and volume are deleted from a bibliographic record, the bib record is also automatically deleted.

Items to be replaced: If the copy is to be replaced and the same barcode retained, change the copy status to On order or Cataloging rather than deleting it. When the matching replacement item arrives, replace the old copy with the new item.

Deleting Items from Copy Buckets

When deleting the last copy of a title record that is part of a copy bucket, Evergreen displays an alert message. If it is your system practice to note when deleting a last copy, please record this information before clicking Yes to force the action, as the bibliographic record will be automatically deleted.




Knowledge Tags

This page was: Helpful | Not Helpful